Lure and Bait Making

No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics

Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum~ Fermenter's Forum

~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~

Southern Snares
Please support our sponsor for the Lure and Bait makers forum - Southern Snares

Print Thread
Hop To
Beaver tail oil ? #7918446
08/01/23 10:35 PM
08/01/23 10:35 PM
Idaho
I
idahotrapper85 Offline OP
trapper
idahotrapper85  Offline OP
trapper
I

Idaho
Hey guys. I am new to TM and somewhat new to trapping (starting me 4th season this year). I am trying my hand this summer at making some beaver tail oil. I only have two 1gal glass jars filled with cut up tails inside and an air stone on top. I have pulled four 9oz jars and four 4oz jars off of it so far of thick black oil. But I have a few questions. 1. can I mix it with anything to make it better? 2. how well will skunk quill hold up in it? I have tried mixing in (This word is unacceptable on Trapperman) fire, some o fuc*, coyote gland lure, and some pure skunk quill. the (This word is unacceptable on Trapperman) fire and the o fuc* mixed in but separated out when I put it back into the fridge and the coyote gland lure made it foam up then it blinded pretty good. The one with the pure skunk quill mixed fine and stayed mixed when I put it in the fridge. But I don't want to mix all of my skunk into what oil I have left if it not going to last.

Re: Beaver tail oil ? [Re: idahotrapper85] #7918546
08/02/23 06:12 AM
08/02/23 06:12 AM
Indiana
G
Gayle08 Offline
trapper
Gayle08  Offline
trapper
G

Indiana