Strictly Trapping

No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter

Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum

~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~

Trading Post
(Please support F&T Trading Post, our sponsor for the Trapping Only Forum)

TrappersPost
Please support Trappers post, a sponsor of the Strictly Trapping Forum

Print Thread
Hop To
Advice for a newbie? #7442061
12/26/21 11:51 AM
12/26/21 11:51 AM
VA
isaacsbees Offline OP
trapper
isaacsbees  Offline OP
trapper

VA
Hi everyone, I'm new to trapping and trying to start out with muskrats. I've got some equipment and I've studied up some, but I've got two major questions.

First, I am having trouble finding locations to trap and am wondering what bodies of water are most conducive (depth, current, vegetation, etc). I live in the Shenandoah Valley of VA and most water around me is farm creeks and ponds but I would appreciate any advice from y'all on how to tell a potential muskrat spot from a distance rather than looking for huts, bank dens, runs, etc. In other words, is there anything that rules out the possibility of muskrats in an area?

Second, here in VA we do not get much ice on our water so I'm wondering if y'all had some recommendations for trapping in warmer water.

I have 110 conibear traps and am trying to find some used #1 steel traps, so let me know if you have any of those as well! Thanks for taking the time to read my post and merry Christmas everyone smile