Health Issues Forum

Home ~ Mission Statement ~ Trap Talk ~ ADC Forum ~ Trap Shed ~ Trap Chat
Trapper Tips ~ Links ~ Gallery ~ Basic Sets ~ Convention Calendar ~ Trapper's Humor
Fur Buyers Directory ~ Trapper's Tales ~ Words From The Past ~ Legends ~ Archives
~Catalog~

Topic Options
Hop to:
#3240528 - 07/24/12 02:12 AM Trapping-related Diseases
WAUrbanTrapper Offline
trapper

Loc: Western WA
I'm still a newbie but I have trapped coons, mink, muskrat, ermine, beaver and bobcat and I haven't always used rubber gloves while skinning. What trapping-related diseases and parasites should I get tested for at my next check-up? Which ones do I not have to worry about if I don't have unmistakable symptoms?

#3241947 - 07/24/12 08:43 PM Re: Trapping-related Diseases [Re: WAUrbanTrapper]
WeaselWoman Offline
trapper

Loc: East Tennessee
Rabies, Tetanus and Bubonic Plague are risks. You can get a rabies shot to prevent it, or if already tested positive for rabies you need to get many exposure shots. Rabies is transmitted from body fluid and air when an infected animal is shot in the head/spine area. Tetanus is preventable by a shot and Bubonic/black plague can come from skinning a bobcat that had eaten a rat sick with the disease, but luckly the plague is only a 16% death rate today instead of 100# way back in the old days.

#3277027 - 08/16/12 03:41 PM Re: Trapping-related Diseases [Re: WAUrbanTrapper]
charles Offline
trapper

Loc: NC Outer Banks
Rabbit fever, cat scratch fever. Some people get horny.

#3397339 - 10/31/12 10:27 AM Re: Trapping-related Diseases [Re: WAUrbanTrapper]
Beaver Cleaver Offline
trapper

Loc: Southern Burbs, MN
I wouldn't worry about getting tested for random things, you would have symptoms by now. Just make sure you are more careful going forward.

#3534255 - 01/04/13 02:44 PM Re: Trapping-related Diseases [Re: WeaselWoman]
neverfinished Offline
trapper

Loc: Northern CA
Originally Posted By: WeaselWoman