General Trapping Archive


No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter


Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum


~Catalog~

Topic Options
Hop to:
#74824 - 02/05/07 05:18 PM anyone use galvanized conduit for cable stakes?
Geezerman Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/22/06
Posts: 5789
Loc: Allen County, Indiana
I tried this at the end of last season, cut a piece of 1/2" conduit at 45's then drill a hole in it, slide a piece of 3/32 cable thru and put on a stop, then pull back thru. I had to make a driver with a piece of black iron pipe for a stop.

Problem is sometimes it doesn't want to grab. I think I am going to go back to berkshires next season, just a lot easier to use.

Whats ya'lls opinions on cable stakes and what kind do you use??

Top
#74829 - 02/05/07 05:20 PM Re: anyone use galvanized conduit for cable stakes? [Re: Geezerman]
rags57078 Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 4183
Loc: se SD
you have to use a J hook to get them to flip right.







Bob
_________________________
Off in my own world
Fish on !!!!!!!

http://bigbluegill.com/

40 years in this game of trapping

Top
#74869 - 02/05/07 05:46 PM Re: anyone use galvanized conduit for cable stakes? [Re: rags57078]
RayA Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 1678
Loc: odessa Mo.
Geeze
Pogo's and birkshires are alot better than conduit they can be made to work but herd a more probs than with any the others. 3/8 black pipe and a 1/4 nut welded in is hard to beat too. RayA
_________________________
I dont suffer from Insanity i enjoy every minute of it.

Citified Mo Trappers Ed Instructor

Top
#74878 - 02/05/07 05:53 PM Re: anyone use galvanized conduit for cable stakes? [Re: RayA]
traprjo Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/29/06
Posts: 498
Loc: pa
i like the bullet type heavy duty pound them in almost any kind of soil rocks etc and they hold like all get out only problem if you want them back you gotta dig em out and if in farm fields i just cut the cable and leave the end

Top
#74880 - 02/05/07 05:54 PM Re: anyone use galvanized conduit for cable stakes? [Re: RayA]
longbeard Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 224
Loc: W. Ky. - 42
Used conduit last yr., worked ok, using Pogos this yr., like them better.
_________________________
He who dies with the most toys, wins!

Top
#74908 - 02/05/07 06:08 PM Re: anyone use galvanized conduit for cable stakes? [Re: longbeard]
45/70 Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 3847
Loc: Georgia
Why not Pogos?
45/70,

Top
#75068 - 02/05/07 07:17 PM Re: anyone use galvanized conduit for cable stakes? [Re: 45/70]
Pete Moss Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/22/06
Posts: 1052
Loc: NC
berkshires an super stakes
_________________________
~~NCCowboy~~






Top
#75087 - 02/05/07 07:22 PM Re: anyone use galvanized conduit for cable stakes? [Re: Pete Moss]
Geezerman Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/22/06
Posts: 5789
Loc: Allen County, Indiana
trying to save money, I can get a 10' piece of conduit for 2.50, it makes about 40 stakes, compare to berkshire at 4.50 a dozen, its a lot cheaper.

Top
#75196 - 02/05/07 08:05 PM Re: anyone use galvanized conduit for cable stakes? [Re: Geezerman]
New2Trapping Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/30/06
Posts: 486
Loc: Maine
geezer man where can you get berkshire at 4.50 aa doz? and are you talking just the heads or are they already built?

Top
#76313 - 02/06/07 03:50 PM Re: anyone use galvanized conduit for cable stakes? [Re: New2Trapping]
Geezerman Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/22/06
Posts: 5789
Loc: Allen County, Indiana
just the heads

Top
#76411 - 02/06/07 04:42 PM Re: anyone use galvanized conduit for cable stakes? [Re: Geezerman]
NDtrapper Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 1033
Loc: North Dakota
I use conduit for my coon and mink drowners and I think they work good.

Top
#76866 - 02/06/07 07:43 PM Re: anyone use galvanized conduit for cable stakes? [Re: NDtrapper]
mpb Offline
trapper

Registered: 01/31/07
Posts: 15
Loc: wisconsin
make ur own pogo , all u need is cable, j-hooks,fender washers and piece of 3/4 rebar or round stock steel( for driver), i made a ton this year and love them pull out nice too, thats if ur ground isn't froze


Edited by mpb (02/06/07 07:44 PM)

Top
#76905 - 02/06/07 08:05 PM Re: anyone use galvanized conduit for cable stakes? [Re: mpb]
cotton Offline


Registered: 12/22/06
Posts: 2727
Loc: rual retreat va. soon be 19
i use 1/2" emt cut on a 45 at each end and 3 to 31/2 long.
holds great i had to make a puller to get em back out of the ground.
_________________________
John 3/16

ifin your gonna be dumb ya gotta be tough
Proud testosterone charged redneck


Top

Moderator:  tmrschessie