Water Trapping Archive


No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter


Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum


~Catalog~

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Hop to:
#164138 - 04/03/07 10:01 PM what do u use for coon stakes? Discussion
bobcatrapper Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 647
Loc: NW Kansas
i use berkshire stakes but they sure tear up a site i use em for my snares and my steel traps i havnt done any water trapping for coon cause we dont have any water but hopefully we'll keep getting rain and the creeks will stay full of water so what do ya'll use?
_________________________
Check Out My Youtube Hunting/Trapping Vids
http://www.youtube.com/user/bobcatrapper

Top
#164190 - 04/03/07 10:23 PM Re: what do u use for coon stakes? Discussion [Re: bobcatrapper]
KYBOY Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/22/06
Posts: 4033
Loc: East, Kentucky
I dont use stakes normally. If I dont make a drowning rig I use this one. About 7' of chain and a good drag.
_________________________
Deep in the heart of Appalachia....

Top
#164233 - 04/03/07 10:50 PM Re: what do u use for coon stakes? Discussion [Re: KYBOY]
playin4funami Offline
trapper

Registered: 01/25/07
Posts: 1881
Loc: nebraska
I use steel,wood,and cable stakes. I don't use drags here unless they are big natural ones like a handy log to tie off to. A big ol coon could drag the ones like kyboy uses for miles before tangling up around here,but would be the way to go if they would tangle up sooner.I tryed one once and trailed a coon almost 2 miles and found him 30 foot up in a tree so I decided they wouldn't work for me. Alot of time I just wire off to something solid. One word of advice don't tie off to anything that could float away in a flood plain area.
_________________________

Top
#164245 - 04/03/07 10:56 PM Re: what do u use for coon stakes? Discussion [Re: playin4funami]
k9. Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 3740
Loc: Brooklyn, Iowa 45 years old st...
KY do you fish many coon out of trees with that setup?
_________________________

Top
#164310 - 04/04/07 12:48 AM Re: what do u use for coon stakes? Discussion [Re: k9.]
KYBOY Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/22/06
Posts: 4033
Loc: East, Kentucky
Never had one go up a tree...30 feet was the farthest one has ever gone(that was in Michigan) Never had one go that far here. Most are 10-15' away from the set. Often I just use the drag and pre-hook it at the set, then they go no-where..Works well here.
_________________________
Deep in the heart of Appalachia....

Top
#164312 - 04/04/07 12:51 AM Re: what do u use for coon stakes? Discussion [Re: KYBOY]
KYBOY Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/22/06
Posts: 4033
Loc: East, Kentucky
Heres a pic from my front porch. The bottom one is my average terrain. You can see why drags work so well here.

_________________________
Deep in the heart of Appalachia....

Top
#164315 - 04/04/07 01:03 AM Re: what do u use for coon stakes? Discussion [Re: KYBOY]
Anonymous
Unregistered


Wow! You can see why I would never even think about putting a drag on any of my traps here:

LOL





Top
#164317 - 04/04/07 01:10 AM Re: what do u use for coon stakes? Discussion [Re: ]
KYBOY Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/22/06
Posts: 4033
Loc: East, Kentucky
LOL, little bit of difference huh?
_________________________
Deep in the heart of Appalachia....

Top
#164358 - 04/04/07 06:35 AM Re: what do u use for coon stakes? Discussion [Re: TexA 68 & going]
RayA Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 1678
Loc: odessa Mo.
I use mainly Pogo's or a earth ancor a some sort. In some spots a 4 inch Dia green limb or log 4-5 ft long works good. drags work great in the right spots. RayA


Edited by RayA (04/04/07 06:44 AM)
_________________________
I dont suffer from Insanity i enjoy every minute of it.

Citified Mo Trappers Ed Instructor

Top
#164700 - 04/04/07 12:01 PM Re: what do u use for coon stakes? Discussion [Re: RayA]
TrapperJake Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 816
Loc: ND
I use either rebar stakes or I make one from a stick at the site.

Top
#164704 - 04/04/07 12:04 PM Re: what do u use for coon stakes? Discussion [Re: TrapperJake]
cj's trapping Offline


Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 2128
Loc: NW Ohio
I mostly use wire, but that's water trapping. When I do set for coon on dry land, I use 24" rebar stakes. I may start using some disposables this coming season.
_________________________


Top
#164705 - 04/04/07 12:05 PM Re: what do u use for coon stakes? Discussion [Re: TrapperJake]
TrapperMatt Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 2566
Loc: Shippensburg, PA..28 years old
I mostly use rebar stakes, sometimes disposable stakes.
_________________________
PTA Life Member #689

Top
#164707 - 04/04/07 12:07 PM Re: what do u use for coon stakes? Discussion [Re: TrapperJake]
Anonymous
Unregistered


20-24" long 1/2" rebar stakes on land and 20" metal conduit stakes in water.

~ADC~

Top
#164753 - 04/04/07 01:02 PM Re: what do u use for coon stakes? Discussion [Re: ]
RollingStone Offline
trapper

Registered: 02/05/07
Posts: 275
Loc: North-east Wisconsin
I used mostly rebar stakes this season, and they held the coons. Next year I'm puttin drags on every trap I own, because carrying 30 rebar stakes out in the woods to set traps is to hard. It is alot of extra wieght. Around here there is so much brush and trees that there not going any were with a drag.
_________________________
theres no moss on a rolling stone

Top
#164754 - 04/04/07 01:02 PM Re: what do u use for coon stakes? Discussion [Re: ]
CPA49707 Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/26/06
Posts: 4655
Loc: Alpena, MI 45 yo
I have been using rebar stakes, but this upcoming season I plan on using pogo's for all my dry land trapping.
_________________________
A day not spent in the woods or on the water is a wasted day

NIGHTWISH SHOW ME A SASQUATCH

Top
#164777 - 04/04/07 01:18 PM Re: what do u use for coon stakes? Discussion [Re: CPA49707]
Anonymous
Unregistered


Dylan - Remember, you've probably got some(probably many) otter around. That's what finally made me quit using drags in the water...too much time looking for animals. If it was just coon, rats and mink...no problem. But, an otter or a beaver can and will pull your drags a long way...even in seemingly heavy cover.

Get yourself some 2" Pogos and a Pogo driver.

Top
#164794 - 04/04/07 01:28 PM Re: what do u use for coon stakes? Discussion [Re: ]
Anonymous
Unregistered


Don't them coons climb the trees with those drags?

~ADC~

Top
#164803 - 04/04/07 01:36 PM Re: what do u use for coon stakes? Discussion [Re: ]
KYBOY Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/22/06
Posts: 4033
Loc: East, Kentucky
Nope, never happened to me anyway and Ive been using drags a long time. Pogos are almost impossible to use here. Mountain feed streams and there so rocky you can barely drive a stake in. Even for my beaver drowning rigs many times ill have to move it two ir three times befor I can get the top stake in. I tried pogos for coon the last couple of seasons and Id say I averaged about one out of every six places I tried in success in holding and setting. When the ground is soft most of the time its too soft for a stake unless its a 24"-36" t-bar stake at the top of a drowning rig then it will hold ok. Not even a 2" pogo will hold in our mud and sand. Its just easier for me to wrap the drag and chain around a root or tree and be done with it. Im not a big time coon trapper anyway. If I were I would probably alter my methods but for cats and k-9's Ill take drags anytime. That first pic I posted from my front porch is 2000' feet of nothing but hardwoods and thickets.
_________________________
Deep in the heart of Appalachia....

Top
#164810 - 04/04/07 01:45 PM Re: what do u use for coon stakes? Discussion [Re: KYBOY]
Anonymous
Unregistered


I see. You wrap up the drag right there. I was thinking you let the coons run with it til they got hung up. If I tried that he'd be hanging 50' up in a cottonwood. lol

~ADC~

Top
#164825 - 04/04/07 01:55 PM Re: what do u use for coon stakes? Discussion [Re: ]
2poor Offline


Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 8691
Loc: Lake Mille Lacs , MN
1/2" rebar 24" long in the water. 3/8" rebar 16" long on dry ground. Never gave the drags much of a chance as I do not have time to be tracking my catch.
_________________________







It is a lazy man that can't find his wife a second job !

http://mooseriverlures.com/

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  tmrschessie