Water Trapping Archive


No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter


Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum


~Catalog~

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Hop to:
#137165 - 03/15/07 09:01 PM Beaver - chain instead of wire or Cable drowners?
330-Trapper Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/31/06
Posts: 5679
Loc: Minnesota
Who uses chain staked and run into deep water for Beavers, and what do your two ends of the chain set-up look like?

_________________________
I do not "Harvest" anything but vegetables...







Top
#137178 - 03/15/07 09:03 PM Re: Who uses chain instead of wire or Cable drowners? [Re: 330-Trapper]
M. Howard Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/24/06
Posts: 4784
Loc: Louisiana
I did that last year on some 280's, I cut all the chain off this year and went to 7x7x3/32 cable. Much lighter and easier to deal with. The cable warps around the trap a lot better for stroge also.

I know you asked who used chain, but I had to put my 2$ in, as my trapping partner told me I was messing up with chain. I told him I had already bought the chain and was going to use it. I could not get the chain off them fast enough after one river line.


Edited by M. Howard (03/15/07 09:05 PM)
_________________________
You can't fix stupid, but you can vote!

http://www.louisianatrappers.com/index.html

Top
#137233 - 03/15/07 09:26 PM Re: Who uses chain instead of wire or Cable drowners? [Re: M. Howard]
2poor Offline


Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 8788
Loc: Lake Mille Lacs , MN
I favor re-bar drowners but I do use chains when the bank dictates it. The locks I use work on both .

My chain drowners have a swivel on the top side and a quick link on the bottom to fasten to the weight.

Never would use cable again myself. Hard to poke yourself with a chain. LOL
_________________________







It is a lazy man that can't find his wife a second job !

http://mooseriverlures.com/

Top
#137271 - 03/15/07 09:42 PM Re: Who uses chain instead of wire or Cable drowners? [Re: 2poor]
330-Trapper Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/31/06
Posts: 5679
Loc: Minnesota
2poor, I know what you mean about poking yourself with Cable, it frays and can put holes in Bemacs and fingers... I just set some up with the quick link on bottom and 2 HD-S hooks on top link, that way I can single or double stake at the top. I'm using the pipe locks I saw in FFGame mag last month.

Also the Cable is 1 length and the chain can be adjusted in length with the quick link...
_________________________
I do not "Harvest" anything but vegetables...







Top
#137282 - 03/15/07 09:50 PM Re: Who uses chain instead of wire or Cable drowners? [Re: 330-Trapper]
KYBOY Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/22/06
Posts: 4033
Loc: East, Kentucky
Im chainging over to all chain other than rebar. Heres one with a cable cinch on the lower end to attach to a bag. I use he same lock on bar and chain.
_________________________
Deep in the heart of Appalachia....

Top
#138388 - 03/16/07 06:18 PM Re: Who uses chain instead of wire or Cable drowners? [Re: KYBOY]
330-Trapper Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/31/06
Posts: 5679
Loc: Minnesota
any more set up pictures? from anybody elses rigs?

KYBOY, that's a cool cinch
_________________________
I do not "Harvest" anything but vegetables...







Top
#138412 - 03/16/07 06:27 PM Re: Who uses chain instead of wire or Cable drowners? [Re: 330-Trapper]
Grubstake Offline
trapper

Registered: 01/26/07
Posts: 3912
Loc: Lotw MN
i just run a quick link big enuf on the bottom end so the chain can pass back thru it, making a cinch outa the chainor you can unscrew it and run thru a cinder block or whatever.

Top
#139181 - 03/17/07 07:48 AM Re: Who uses chain instead of wire or Cable drowners? [Re: Grubstake]
330-Trapper Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/31/06
Posts: 5679
Loc: Minnesota
Do you dye or paint the new chain...? I don't think it'll take a dye too well being it's new with no rust.
_________________________
I do not "Harvest" anything but vegetables...







Top
#139231 - 03/17/07 08:42 AM Re: Who uses chain instead of wire or Cable drowners? [Re: 330-Trapper]
Grubstake Offline
trapper

Registered: 01/26/07
Posts: 3912
Loc: Lotw MN
soak it in vineger over night then rinse it off good, that will take the shine off it. use it like that or dye it.

Top
#139258 - 03/17/07 09:08 AM Re: Who uses chain instead of wire or Cable drowners? [Re: Grubstake]
don Wolf Offline


Registered: 12/22/06
Posts: 5880
Loc: evansville Indiana age67
Rods all the way!

Top
#139522 - 03/17/07 11:58 AM Re: Who uses chain instead of wire or Cable drowners? [Re: don Wolf]
shanemoss Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 1995
Loc: Cook Springs, Alabama/ SE WI
How do the rods work? Lots of my beaver trapping are in shollow farm ponds with a gentle slope. I use cable or wire attached to concrete blocks. I wade out to about 4 inches lower than my chest waders and push the blocks further. The other end is staked. The cable gets expensive as some have to be very long to reach deeper water but it beats a stolen trap and beaver. On a creek or something with steeper banks, do you just stab the rebar into the bottom?
_________________________
When you earnestly believe you can compensate for a lack of skill by doubling your efforts, there's no end to what you can't do.

Top
#139589 - 03/17/07 12:24 PM Re: Who uses chain instead of wire or Cable drowners? [Re: shanemoss]
330-Trapper Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/31/06
Posts: 5679
Loc: Minnesota
Hey don Wolf, the thread question is about chain drowners


Edited by 330-Trapper (03/17/07 01:06 PM)
_________________________
I do not "Harvest" anything but vegetables...







Top
#139624 - 03/17/07 12:42 PM Re: Who uses chain instead of wire or Cable drowners? [Re: 330-Trapper]
don Wolf Offline


Registered: 12/22/06
Posts: 5880
Loc: evansville Indiana age67
You talkin to me, 330? Sorry did not mean to give bad info. My bad. shut my mouth.

Top
#139640 - 03/17/07 12:50 PM Re: Who uses chain instead of wire or Cable drowners? [Re: don Wolf]
shanemoss Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 1995
Loc: Cook Springs, Alabama/ SE WI
Me too....shane
_________________________
When you earnestly believe you can compensate for a lack of skill by doubling your efforts, there's no end to what you can't do.

Top
#139668 - 03/17/07 01:08 PM Re: Who uses chain instead of wire or Cable drowners? [Re: shanemoss]
330-Trapper Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/31/06
Posts: 5679
Loc: Minnesota
hey don and shane, sorry about the attitude.. I am just conversing with some on another threadline and took it out on you guy's...

Sorry
_________________________
I do not "Harvest" anything but vegetables...







Top
#139680 - 03/17/07 01:15 PM Re: Who uses chain instead of wire or Cable drowners? [Re: 330-Trapper]
don Wolf Offline


Registered: 12/22/06
Posts: 5880
Loc: evansville Indiana age67
Heck it is all in fun anyway. I never take things to serious on trapperman.

Top
#139778 - 03/17/07 02:06 PM Re: Who uses chain instead of wire or Cable drowners? [Re: don Wolf]
il.trapper Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/22/06
Posts: 829
Loc: West Central Illinois
I must admit...this is a first for me.....Never seen a chain drowner before.

Now I gotta ask....why? What situation would you prefer a chain over a cable or wire drowner?

I thought ya was asking about long chains and tangle sticks over using drowners originaly.
_________________________
Take a youngun outdoors...ya will both learn

Top
#139883 - 03/17/07 03:19 PM Re: Who uses chain instead of wire or Cable drowners? [Re: il.trapper]
Grubstake Offline
trapper

Registered: 01/26/07
Posts: 3912
Loc: Lotw MN
well, the chain is more durable, no kinks or frays, so its way better than wire and a lil better than cable, its easier to terminate ends than cable cuz there is no crimps or anything. I'm sure ill continue to use cable and even wire in the future but i like chain.

Top
#139891 - 03/17/07 03:23 PM Re: Who uses chain instead of wire or Cable drowners? [Re: il.trapper]
Jim Blakley Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 3046
Loc: se. mn... age..62
Chain drowners are better because, whey last forever, dont tangle like cable, work even when slack, and are easy to store. For coon & mink mine are about 6 feet long, and I use about 300. I have a pogo on the bottom end and a swivel on the top.I attach the trap to the lock with a quick snap. Ive used them for about 15 years. If I cant get the pogo to hold I use a stake or weight of some kind. I long line [two day checks] and wouldnt give them up. They cost more up front, about $4.00 per rig,but last and last Im still using my first ones. Think of them as trapline Investments. I make and sell locks,and you can get them from Cumberlands, or Ill be at Fur Takers & The NTA national.
_________________________
.....Ive been at this Game for 50 years and have no plans to stop................

Top
#140263 - 03/17/07 08:21 PM Re: Who uses chain instead of wire or Cable drowners? [Re: 330-Trapper]
2poor Offline


Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 8788
Loc: Lake Mille Lacs , MN
Jimby

You do sell a very nice lock !

330-Trapper

Why the extra quick link fastened to the trap? I like to keep my chain on the trap as short as possible.
_________________________







It is a lazy man that can't find his wife a second job !

http://mooseriverlures.com/

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  tmrschessie