Water Trapping Archive


No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter


Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum


~Catalog~

Topic Options
Hop to:
#121271 - 03/04/07 06:16 PM Beaver - Castor mounds and 330s
trapperjosh Offline
trapper

Registered: 02/07/07
Posts: 66
Loc: Owensville, Mo
Could someone explain how to set up a 330 on a castor mound for me. Pics would be great. In Mo the 330s have to be completly underwater and that is what the problem is. For the water to be deep enough I have to be quite a ways away from the bank.

Top
#121297 - 03/04/07 06:26 PM Re: Castor mounds and 330s [Re: trapperjosh]
trapperjosh Offline
trapper

Registered: 02/07/07
Posts: 66
Loc: Owensville, Mo
ttt

Top
#121302 - 03/04/07 06:27 PM Re: Castor mounds and 330s [Re: trapperjosh]
Hunt12Trap Offline
trapper

Registered: 01/25/07
Posts: 374
Loc: So. Maine/So. Ill
use a lot of guide sticks or try and dig out the bottom to make a channel deep enough to fit your 330 under the water..by the sounds of it though footholds might be easier

Top
#121304 - 03/04/07 06:27 PM Re: Castor mounds and 330s [Re: trapperjosh]
sbhooper Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/29/06
Posts: 505
Loc: North Platte, Nebraska
Legally set the 330 in front of the mound and then fence it in from the sides with sticks so that the only opening is the one through the 330. Lay a stick over the top of the trap to make the beaver dive throught the opening.

Top
#121367 - 03/04/07 06:50 PM Re: Castor mounds and 330s [Re: sbhooper]
trapperjosh Offline
trapper

Registered: 02/07/07
Posts: 66
Loc: Owensville, Mo
I am in the process of acquiring a few beaver footholds but for right now I have 330s and a couple #3s which have had alot of pullouts. I am just starting trapping so I am getting my types of traps built up. Thanks for the advice.

Top
#121369 - 03/04/07 06:52 PM Re: Castor mounds and 330s [Re: sbhooper]
cohunt Online   content
trapper

Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 622
Loc: revillo, sd
Find a sheer bank at least waist deep where the water nearly reaches the top of the bank. Often such a spot is found just downstream from a dam. Dig a trench about 18 inches into the bank with a tiling spade so that the trench has about 12 inches of water in it. Put castor at back of trench and lay a log across the trench mouth(330 under the log). Fast, easy and deadly.


Edited by cohunt (03/04/07 08:52 PM)

Top
#121389 - 03/04/07 07:07 PM Re: Castor mounds and 330s [Re: cohunt]
5cents Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 276
Loc: s/e wisconsin
trapperjosh you have to make them dive! like cohunt and sbhooper are telling you. let us know how you do!
#3 are two small. get some #5 bridgers or mb750s

Top
#121395 - 03/04/07 07:11 PM Re: Castor mounds and 330s [Re: 5cents]
trapperjosh Offline
trapper

Registered: 02/07/07
Posts: 66
Loc: Owensville, Mo
I am in the process but they are expensive. Wish I could win the lotto or something. I wouldn't mind getting a dozen MB 750s. I did however buy some #4s because that is all I could afford. They should get me through this year though.

Top
#121491 - 03/04/07 07:54 PM Re: Castor mounds and 330s [Re: trapperjosh]
baker Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 1726
Loc: south central,Nebraska-20yrs
i agree with 5cents, get some #5's for them beavs....how are u doing it with the #3's tho? are u drowning them or just staking because just solid staking a beav will give u alot of pullouts also. a #3 will catch a beaver, but i wouldnt count on that. ive heard of them being caught in #1.5's but thats not the trap that you would use for them, there accedents. it all depends on the catch and a whole lot of luck. if i was u, i would save up for some #5's. just my 2 cents, but for beaver u need a beaver trap. im not saying that the #3 wont hold them. it just wont hold them as well.
_________________________
~Evan~

Top
#121496 - 03/04/07 07:57 PM Re: Castor mounds and 330s [Re: baker]
trapperjosh Offline
trapper

Registered: 02/07/07
Posts: 66
Loc: Owensville, Mo
I am using them on a drowner. I agree with you it is all I had at the time and it was better than nothing. I bought some #4s from a guy and am waiting on them to arrive. once I get them the beavers are in trouble. Next year I will be prepared with a dozen or more MB 750s.

Top
#121663 - 03/04/07 09:03 PM Re: Castor mounds and 330s [Re: trapperjosh]
trapwv Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 361
Loc: West Virginia
330's will work with castor if there is a small feeder stream in the area. Just put the mound a few feet up the small stream and submerge the 330 at the entrance, with a dive stick at the top. Might get you a set or two until you can buy the legholds. It's worked for me before.


Edited by trapwv (03/04/07 09:04 PM)

Top
#121688 - 03/04/07 09:17 PM Re: Castor mounds and 330s [Re: trapwv]
NMtrapper Offline
trapper

Registered: 01/22/07
Posts: 403
Loc: new mexico
well, #3's do have pull outs.. I have had half dozen or so.. but i also have 5 that i took on #3's. drowner sets and long chains.. i am placing traps on the top of a crossing. and staking away so that they can't get hung up as easily.. do what you can with what you have.. next year we all will be better prepared.. from the lessons learned this year...

I even caught a 35 pounder on a 1.5.. so a little luck is better then none at all.

have fun

Top
#122023 - 03/05/07 07:40 AM Re: Castor mounds and 330s [Re: NMtrapper]
sbhooper Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/29/06
Posts: 505
Loc: North Platte, Nebraska
I have taken beaver in a #3 Duke on a drowner. If that is all you have, then use them. You will be well-served by the 750s, but don't let that stop you. There is not that much time left-go for it!

Top
#122183 - 03/05/07 10:30 AM Re: Castor mounds and 330s [Re: sbhooper]
Fairchild #17 Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/27/06
Posts: 743
Loc: Millville, Pennsylvania
In PA you are limited to a #3 bridger (6.5") and smaller foothold for beaver. If I could use a larger trap I certainly would, but like others have said, use what you've got. I purchased a dozen #3 bridgers for next year strictly as beaver traps. This year I wanted to catch two large beavers I located on a single island. I set man-made castor mounds with #2 bridgers on drowners for a backfoot catch. The next morning I had two over 50lb.
_________________________
Nowadays it just don't pay to be a good 'ol boy.

Top
#122215 - 03/05/07 10:59 AM Re: Castor mounds and 330s [Re: Fairchild #17]
DanielE Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/30/06
Posts: 5066
Loc: Eastern NC
1. Make a castor mound.

2. Put your trap in front of it

3. Use sticks and brush to block around the trap so the only way to get there is through the trap.

Top
#122220 - 03/05/07 11:01 AM Re: Castor mounds and 330s [Re: DanielE]
DanielE Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/30/06
Posts: 5066
Loc: Eastern NC

Top

Moderator:  tmrschessie