Posted By: Trapper73

Making casteroum - 04/21/20 07:11 PM

When making casteroum
Which would be better
Glycol or a high proof alcohol.
Thanks
Posted By: Yes sir

Re: Making casteroum - 04/21/20 11:16 PM

I'm no expert and there's guys on here that may have a better answer than me but I try to stay away from glycol. I've heard it can sour or kill the odor of some ingredients over time. No personal experience with it myself.

Re: Making casteroum - 04/22/20 12:30 AM

Ok thanks
Posted By: Paul Dobbins

Re: Making casteroum - 04/22/20 01:06 AM

Are you referring to tinctured castor?

Re: Making casteroum - 04/22/20 01:30 AM

Yes last batch I made someone told me to use glycol and I put the whole dryed castors in there.and I let them sit alittle over a year.

Just drained off and it's really dark brownish black.
Does really smell bad.
Just want to make sure I'm doing it right.
Thank you

Re: Making casteroum - 04/22/20 04:24 AM

I like using 100 proof vodka as the tincturing agent. 1/3 castor chopped up and 2/3 100 proof vodka. It works great, but takes time. In 6 months, you'll have some good stuff.

Re: Making casteroum - 04/22/20 08:24 AM

Ok
Thank you

Re: Making casteroum - 04/22/20 09:10 AM

Have one more question paul.
I bought some dryed castor from someone
It was very very dry.
So do I just put it in a coffee grinder to put in jar and then just add
100p vodka just above castor in jar.
Thanks what's a good time frame to dry before I chop to make it
If I dry them my self.
After the time frame of drying would you freeze then
Grind.
Thank you...
Posted By: strike2x

Re: Making casteroum - 04/22/20 12:26 PM

You do understand you are making an extract and the vodka is what will be holding the Castor smell I assume. In a previous post you said you drained it off. What part were you smelling?
Posted By: Bob Jameson

Re: Making casteroum - 04/22/20 12:40 PM