Home

Frustrating mole job

Posted By: GW02

Frustrating mole job - 09/23/15 10:40 PM

Lots of damage, the front "yard" is nothing but a patchwork of mushy green and dead grass. The backyard has damage and old mounds that I have flattened over the last two days with no change today. The mulch beds looked the most promising, but nothing in the trap and no new tunnels.

For the life of me, I cannot find fresh tunnels -- or any tunnels -- to set traps. In the front, every spot I dug that looked or felt like a tunnel was not. Large spaces under the turf, but no holes that I could locate. I walked heel to toe over the property and found mushy spots, but that's all they were.

Granted, I'm fairly new to mole trapping, I usually stick to trapping beaver/muskrats, but surely I can't possibly be this incompetent!

What am I missing?
Posted By: roe

Re: Frustrating mole job - 09/23/15 10:46 PM

The first thing I would ask is: Are there any straight lines in the property?

Borders, paths, fences?

Re: Frustrating mole job - 09/23/15 11:06 PM

Yes. the mulch beds and the sidewalks next to the grass. The front "yard" is 4-5' x 50' divided by a walkway to the porch, the side yard that is affected is maybe 20 x 100 (yard is around 100 x 100).

I checked along all edges, the mulch bed was only area I found a straight tunnel in. Plus the old damage parallel and 10' away from that.
Posted By: EatenByLimestone

Re: Frustrating mole job - 09/23/15 11:39 PM

Start vole trapping.

Re: Frustrating mole job - 09/24/15 12:03 AM

I thought of that, but there are no surface trails in the grass to set traps.
Posted By: EatenByLimestone

Re: Frustrating mole job - 09/24/15 12:24 AM

No mols will catch voles under ground. you need to find a travel route though.
Posted By: Getting There

Re: Frustrating mole job - 09/24/15 12:25 AM