Home

Fox vs coyote densities

Posted By: Wanna Be

Fox vs coyote densities - 02/02/21 09:44 PM

I have no direct knowledge except what I’m seeing and read on here, but I have a question.
Is it “true” that a higher fox population would mean a lesser coyote population? Or a higher fox catch vs coyote catch would mean the same thing? Do fox roam like coyotes or is their home range much smaller.
Referring to Greys and coyotes.
Posted By: walleye101

Re: Fox vs coyote densities - 02/03/21 12:54 AM

I think most of the observations about Coyotes reducing fox density are referring to red fox.
Posted By: Posco

Re: Fox vs coyote densities - 02/03/21 02:22 AM

These are all fox tracks and we have a healthy coyote population in the same area. They seem to cohabitate just fine around here. [Linked Image]
Posted By: MNEric

Re: Fox vs coyote densities - 02/03/21 02:29 AM

I have been told if u have a lot of red fox there is not coyote around and vice versa. I was told gray fox and coyote coexist together and red fox and timber wolves so. On one property I had three sets within 30 yards of each other I caught 6 red fox and 4 coyote. My experience is that it depends on the surrounding habitat.
Posted By: Swamp Wolf

Re: Fox vs coyote densities - 02/03/21 05:51 AM

Grey fox will co-exist with coyotes. Ive seen high grey fox numbers and good coyote population in same areas many times over the years. Greys can climb a tree like a cat...to escape the chase.

Grey fox home range is smaller...a few hundred acres. Reds cover much larger areas...similar to coyotes...thousands of acres.
Posted By: loosanarrow

Re: Fox vs coyote densities - 02/03/21 08:45 AM

Around here it’s clear - as coyotes increased through the late 1980’s and 1990’s the red fox numbers dropped sharply. Then about 6-8 years ago the coyote numbers went down for whatever reason. Last year the local buyer had a shop full of reds hanging and very few coyotes. This year that buyer is out of business.