Home

Shoulder Impingement ...

Posted By: Crowfoot

Shoulder Impingement ... - 02/26/24 10:40 PM

All you folks that have had cuff surgery, any of ya had to deal with "impingement" , and the occasional spur ?

I've had 4 shots over the years ( I'm 66), last one only lasted 4 months. Doc said they'd likely go downhill from here. 3 months being the limit.

Just started looking into PT, and initially looks promising (I hate the knife, fearing a trigger happy mad scientist with a yacht payment).

Can you relate ? Care to share ?
Thanks
Posted By: Larry Baer

Re: Shoulder Impingement ... - 02/26/24 10:49 PM

I have had an employee off for a year and a half and had his 3rd surgery this morning. I would put it off all you can and if you have it done make sure your doc is a good one. Sorry for the negative post. Seems like the guy I know is having a lot of problems. I have no personal experience with this.
Posted By: kinley31

Re: Shoulder Impingement ... - 02/26/24 11:47 PM

I've had both shoulders done. Dr. removed 3/8" of the end of my clavicle on both sides. Left shoulder in 2002, right shoulder in 2010. If you have it done, I highly recommend physical therapy post surgery. It will help you recover quicker.
Posted By: 4zebra61

Re: Shoulder Impingement ... - 02/27/24 12:21 AM

I had both my ac joints snipped, the procedure is called a distal clavicle resection, they both healed up pretty fast, I lift weights 3 days a week and not a problem!
Posted By: Brian Mongeau

Re: Shoulder Impingement ... - 02/27/24 12:33 AM

Bone spur impingement, yup.. Had left done in 2007, right in 2010. Arthroscopic through 4 and 3 holes respectively. 6 or 8 weeks of therapy after. Hurts a bit after, but full range of motion and no pain since. Don't cheat on therapy and ice after done.

Re: Shoulder Impingement ... - 02/27/24 02:16 AM

Originally Posted by Larry Baer