Home

Now Johnny Sneakum' is an author

Posted By: James

Now Johnny Sneakum' is an author - 08/15/23 01:21 AM

I've heard of this happening to other writers: someone publishing under their pen-name or a twist of that pen-name. Now I am a victim.

On Amazon, the largest bookseller, if you do a search for "James Sarafin," the top results show e-books authored by "Sarafin James." These books are phony literature! Do not buy them! They are not authored by me or written with my permission.

I am not a prolific, well-known, or wealthy author. If this can happen to me, it can happen to you, if you've published at all.

Hal, you may want to take this one seriously.

Jim
Posted By: TurkeyWrangler

Re: Now Johnny Sneakum' is an author - 08/15/23 01:23 AM

"These books are phony literature!"

Are you sure you didn't write them?
Posted By: danny clifton

Re: Now Johnny Sneakum' is an author - 08/15/23 01:41 AM

What is the process to shut him down? Will Amazon do it or do you need to sue?

Re: Now Johnny Sneakum' is an author - 08/15/23 01:45 AM

I'm trying Amazon and Kindle first. Phony AI-written books are becoming a big problem for writers and publishers.

To protect my pen name, I will go to a lawyer if I have to.

Jim
Posted By: warrior

Re: Now Johnny Sneakum' is an author - 08/15/23 01:48 AM

You know a good one, lol.
Posted By: 52Carl

Re: Now Johnny Sneakum' is an author - 08/15/23 01:48 AM

How do you know the dudes name isn't actually Safarin James?

Re: Now Johnny Sneakum' is an author - 08/15/23 01:55 AM

Originally Posted by 52Carl

If that's his real name, I won't have much of a complaint.

Jim

Re: Now Johnny Sneakum' is an author - 08/15/23 01:56 AM

Of course, I'll demand to see a driver's license with that name on it.

Jim
Posted By: upstateNY

Re: Now Johnny Sneakum' is an author - 08/15/23 01:57 AM

Originally Posted by James

Jim

LOL grin
Posted By: Yes sir

Re: Now Johnny Sneakum' is an author - 08/15/23 02:05 AM