Home

Pellet stove help

Posted By: Jim H

Pellet stove help - 01/27/19 04:55 PM

I have no experience with them. We bought a house over the summer that has one in the basement. We've burned about 1 ton so far. It seems like lately it's not drafting well. The viewing glass gets covered in soot, the fire itself is not as intense as it was a month ago. I keep the fire box cleaned out daily. Does it sound like a blockage, where would you start looking? Thanks!
Posted By: Chamacat

Re: Pellet stove help - 01/27/19 04:56 PM

Yep..Adjust the damper for air flow...when the fire is "Dancing" in the fire grate then you have the right combustion..and that will clean up the glass window from soot

Re: Pellet stove help - 01/27/19 05:00 PM

I have not seen a damper on this stove. Would it be a setting on the control panel? It's an England Stove Works stove.
Posted By: Posco

Re: Pellet stove help - 01/27/19 05:03 PM

Shut the stove down and pull the pipe. Pull the ash bin and make sure there isn't ash blocking any passageways in that area. Your burn pot might have an air passage under it. Look for that. Pull the cover on the back side of the unit and see if the combustion blower fan has a lint build-up. Vacuum everything you can reach once the stove is cooled. Don't use your wife's good one.
Posted By: Monster Toms

Re: Pellet stove help - 01/27/19 05:07 PM

It should have a little clean out door on the 90 out of the back of the stove. Second thing to try is pulling the tiles out from inside and cleaning them and the inside well to allow air to flow,

Re: Pellet stove help - 01/27/19 05:07 PM

Yep..Mine is a blade that has a pin and a knob on it..the blade will cover the "Exhaust" after the fire grate..look behind your stove near where the exhaust fan is at..this damper will be between that fan and the fire grate..Has nothing to do with the control panel..This is a mechanical blade that moves over the exhaust opening to control air flow