Home

Lets talk Shop Heat

Posted By: rednecktrapper

Lets talk Shop Heat - 01/12/19 11:25 PM

Getting closer to the end of the project finishing the new Weld shop. 28' x 40' x 10' Ceilings. Block foundation. Ceiling is insulated with R19.

How do you guys heat your Shops? I have it narrowed down to a coal stove in the corner, or a ceiling mount Propane heater.

We burn coal in the house with a stoker, and I thought about buying an identical stove for the shop. Can get a used stove for about $500 plus the cost of a chimney (Masonry or SS)

Propane heater is $850 + plus the cost of a 120 gal tank.

I think using coal would be cheaper yearly.

Thoughts? You tell me. THANKS.
Posted By: Zim

Re: Lets talk Shop Heat - 01/12/19 11:41 PM

For me it would be a matter of how much you will use the shop. Propane is handy, flick of a switch or on a thermostat and you have instant heat. I have no knowledge with burning coal here in Wisconsin but I do burn a lot of hardwood in my shop/garage. That is a nice heat but I can't hold a fire overnight with the wood stove I have so there are times when that does not work so well.
I went with a triple wall pipe in lieu of a masonry chimney.

Zim
Posted By: ebsurveyor

Re: Lets talk Shop Heat - 01/12/19 11:42 PM

Which setup would be the driest heat?

Re: Lets talk Shop Heat - 01/12/19 11:47 PM

Originally Posted by ebsurveyor

Coal hands down. Propane puts plenty of moisture into the air.
Posted By: GREG KOHL

Re: Lets talk Shop Heat - 01/12/19 11:49 PM