Home

Knife Sharpener

Posted By: shortliner16

Knife Sharpener - 01/08/19 05:50 PM

Anyone recommend a good knife sharpener? Not really wanting a mechanical one, want one that can get a knife shaving sharp.
Posted By: Hal

Re: Knife Sharpener - 01/08/19 05:52 PM

Diamond whetstone. There are several brands.
[Linked Image][Linked Image]
Posted By: Dfabs

Re: Knife Sharpener - 01/08/19 06:05 PM

Worksharp is mechanical and will sharpen enough to shave with. Then, you just maintain the blade with a butchers steel.
Posted By: Lugnut

Re: Knife Sharpener - 01/08/19 06:30 PM

Originally Posted by shortliner16
Anyone recommend a good knife sharpener? Not really wanting a mechanical one, want one that can get a knife shaving sharp.

I've been using a Lansky system for many years. I was never any good at holding a precise angle and the Lansky does that for me. It won't take too much steel off like some mechanicals can either. I have one at home and one at camp.

I recently starting using a honing steel to touch up my knives and an amazed by how much longer I can go between sharpenings. I liked it so much I bought a second one just for the fur shed.
Posted By: l1ranger

Re: Knife Sharpener - 01/08/19 07:02 PM

i use a lansky too

if you want something better, but pricier, KME, Wicked Edge, and edge pro are good options
Posted By: robert.d12

Re: Knife Sharpener - 01/08/19 11:38 PM

I have always had a hard time getting knives sharp. I've tried the work sharp grinder, lansky five stone set, and a few other ones. I recently bought a lansky four rod turn box. It will put a really sharp edge on a knife. The knife needs to be close because it doesn't have a very coarse stone, but it can sharpen the really easily really fast. It's also less than $20 and is small so it can get packed anywhere.
Posted By: upstateNY

Re: Knife Sharpener - 01/08/19 11:45 PM

Get a good old Norton oil stone.
Posted By: charles

Re: Knife Sharpener - 01/09/19 01:23 AM