Wildcrafting

No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics

Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~Trapperman.com Live
Trap Chat~Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar
Photo Gallery~Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Wildcrafting
Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulator Forum

~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~

Print Thread
Hop To
Woods Grown, Wild, Cultivated? #5210588
09/28/15 12:32 PM
09/28/15 12:32 PM
Peoria County Illinois
Larry Baer Offline OP
trapper
Larry Baer  Offline OP
trapper

Peoria County Illinois
What's the difference? I have been digging ginseng for about thirty years have planted the seeds off the plants I dug plus I bought and planted seeds in the woods. Nothing I ever planted was cultivated or dug up / disked ect. But some soils are different than others and the roots grow big fast. Some soils make for small roots with no feeder roots and others make for just the opposite. So when I take them to sell there are all different shapes and sizes. One Asian buyer I sell to throws out anything with smoother looking roots and they say they are woods grown. Then they throw out the ones with lots of feeder roots and say they are cultivated. I dug one with a neck about 2 1/2'' long this last weekend that I know I did not plant and it has more small feeder roots than most- plus it's was in loamy soil.
Any thoughts on this? Thanks, Larry

Just passin through
Re: Woods Grown, Wild, Cultivated? [Re: Larry Baer] #5210774
09/28/15 03:13 PM
09/28/15 03:13 PM
East Ohio
Jeff Offline
trapper
Jeff  Offline
trapper

East Ohio
Different Ginseng Types Depends on How Its Grown

There are 4 types of ginseng in terms of how they were grown on the market. They are wild ginseng, wild-simulated ginseng, woods-grown ginseng and field cultivated ginseng.

Wild Ginseng