ADC Trapper Forum

No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter

Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum

~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~

WCS
(Please support Wildlife Control Supplies, our sponsor for the ADC Page)

Print Thread
Hop To
Beaver Lure #4636120
09/06/14 04:09 PM
09/06/14 04:09 PM
New Hampshire
Coondog6 Offline OP
trapper
Coondog6  Offline OP
trapper

New Hampshire
Hello All,

I have been trapping beaver for three years. So, I have a lot to learn. I have a job at an housing association to remove beavers from their two ponds. Four sets were made in one pond two run sets,one set with castor, and one set with beaver oil. All sets were made with cage traps.

The beaver went past the two scented sets and was caught in a run set. The beaver was a two year old. Why would a beaver pass a castor set? I thought they are very territorial.

Thanks

Chuck

The measure of a man is what he will do when he knows he won't get caught.

Coondog6
www.BestWayWildlife.com
Re: Beaver Lure [Re: Coondog6] #4636178
09/06/14 04:58 PM
09/06/14 04:58 PM
Central NC
T
traprjohn Offline
trapper
traprjohn  Offline
trapper
T

Central NC
Wrong time of year in many places...some places I've read it doesn't matter,but looks like it does up there.
It's like using deer estrus NOT during the rut, kinda.(altho there are better examples) like rattling in mid-summer to attract bucks.
Pauls Woodchipper is my go to lure for summertime beavering.
Peel a few lil stix and stab 1 into the lure, and walla, a beaver in a trap or snare.