Land Trapping Archive


Home ~ Mission Statement ~ Trap Talk ~ ADC Forum ~ Trap Shed ~ Trap Chat
Trapper Tips ~ Links ~ Gallery ~ Basic Sets ~ Convention Calendar ~ Trapper's Humor
Fur Buyers Directory ~ Trapper's Tales ~ Words From The Past ~ Legends ~ Archives~Lure Formulator Forum
~Catalog~

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Hop to:
#1718462 - 01/08/10 09:51 AM Remaking Coyote Sets
Hunter50 Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/09
Loc: Statesville.,NC
I caught a female that was in heat this morning. Coyotes are new to me,only caught 32 in last 3 years. I can put the set back the way is was because the ground is frozen like a rock. Question is should I re set it? I already have 2 other sets right there in the same area about 20 yards apart.

Top
#1718466 - 01/08/10 09:53 AM Re: Remaking Coyote Sets [Re: Hunter50]
j lord Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/22/06
Loc: Flatland TN
i would re set it if possible. keep the other sets working also.
_________________________
James Lord
-------------
www.jlordvideos.com

http://www.jlordvideos.com/apps/forums/
"Trappers Lodge"



Top
#1718471 - 01/08/10 09:56 AM Re: Remaking Coyote Sets [Re: j lord]
Hunter50 Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/09
Loc: Statesville.,NC
Its no problem to re make it. I'll bring in another burnt post. I use waxed dirt and buckwheat hulls, my traps never freeze up

Top
#1718478 - 01/08/10 09:59 AM Re: Remaking Coyote Sets [Re: Hunter50]
Hunter50 Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/09
Loc: Statesville.,NC
This is the set I used to catch her. Hawkbakers Widowmaker and spiked urine.

Top
#1718775 - 01/08/10 12:47 PM Re: Remaking Coyote Sets [Re: Hunter50]
Hunter50 Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/09
Loc: Statesville.,NC
I remade the set with a cow bone with her vent wired to it,very quick and easy set. I nail them into the frozen ground with long spikes.NOTHING has ever pulled one out. And this is the finished set

Top
#1718801 - 01/08/10 12:56 PM Re: Remaking Coyote Sets [Re: Hunter50]
Greg / MO Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/02/08
Loc: Jackson, Missouri
GREAT post and pics; thanks for taking the time!

I need to check into the hulls... heard about them but not in too much detail. Where do you get them, and do you have to grind them up before using?

Top
#1718802 - 01/08/10 12:56 PM Re: Remaking Coyote Sets [Re: Hunter50]
Ricky Cox Offline
trapper

Registered: 03/17/08
Loc: Lexington, Texas
Keep us posted on if connect with another one in the remake. I like the idea of using the vent from the female and I'm curious to see how you do with it.
_________________________
Ricky
www.txtrappers.com

Top
#1718843 - 01/08/10 01:20 PM Re: Remaking Coyote Sets [Re: Ricky Cox]
Hunter50 Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/09
Loc: Statesville.,NC
I get the hulls from Murray's Lures,just use them as you buy them.Cover them with dry dirt then a dusting of local dirt. I've used the vents from fox before and its almost a guarenteed catch, lets see how the male yotes like it. http://www.murrayslures.com/index.html


Edited by Hunter50 (01/08/10 01:23 PM)

Top
#1718910 - 01/08/10 01:53 PM Re: Remaking Coyote Sets [Re: DoubleCoyote]
possum5676 Offline
trapper

Registered: 01/02/07
Loc: kansas
the set with the bone and vent ring, i doff my hat, best set this year i have seen on here.
_________________________
none

Top
#1718914 - 01/08/10 01:56 PM Re: Remaking Coyote Sets [Re: possum5676]
scott rainbolt Offline
trapper

Registered: 08/19/09
Loc: morristown tn.
good post
_________________________
rainbolt wildlife control morristown tennessee
http://tennesseetrappers.proboards.com/index.cgi

Top
#1719012 - 01/08/10 02:50 PM Re: Remaking Coyote Sets [Re: DoubleCoyote]
Hunter50 Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/09
Loc: Statesville.,NC
I only use hulls when its freezing weather.I also use waxed dirt if there is any chance of freezing and thawing.

Top
#1719023 - 01/08/10 02:57 PM Re: Remaking Coyote Sets [Re: Hunter50]
Hunter50 Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/09
Loc: Statesville.,NC
I guess I should add that you can use anything on that bone. Squirrel legs are good as well as rabbit feet/fur.( If your state allows it) Thing I like about them is they beat the heck out of trying to dig a dirt hole when the ground is like cement, I can put that set in in just a minute and canines love it. I've had them at the set when the pan had bedding underneath it and didn't fire and theres tracks everywhere from them doing a dance trying to get the attractor off that bone.

Top
#1719031 - 01/08/10 03:00 PM Re: Remaking Coyote Sets [Re: Hunter50]
Itrap Offline
trapper

Registered: 05/20/08
Loc: West Virginia
Educate me.....what is "her vent"....I have an idea but explain the whole wiring thing a bit more ....I agree great looking set
_________________________
NIV Psalm 104: 20-23

Top
#1719124 - 01/08/10 03:31 PM Re: Remaking Coyote Sets [Re: Itrap]
Hunter50 Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/09
Loc: Statesville.,NC
2 other things I use alot in cold weather. One is a cow or deer bone with the one end cut off at an angle and a hole drilled near the top. I use a turkey injector to load it up with paste bait. I drive a stake in the ground about 5-6" then wiggle it around. Then I pound the bone in the ground and place my trap accordingly. Its a short "post" and canines have to get close to the front of it to work it. Another thing I use alot is small dried gourds.I cut the bottoms off like in the picture and fill them with bait/lure etc.,They are self insulted and really put the scent out in cold weather. I use them in flat sets or dirthole sets.


Edited by Hunter50 (01/08/10 03:32 PM)

Top
#1719467 - 01/08/10 05:42 PM Re: Remaking Coyote Sets [Re: Hunter50]
Greg / MO Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/02/08
Loc: Jackson, Missouri
And you say you've only been trapping three years? LOL! Good stuff.

I actually saved the vents off two of my female foxes earlier this year with plans on using them somehow later but just haven't done it yet... That's why I was thinking "Good post"... wink

Top
#1719660 - 01/08/10 06:42 PM Re: Remaking Coyote Sets [Re: Greg / MO]
Hunter50 Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/09
Loc: Statesville.,NC
I've been trappin for 40 years.Coyotes just moved into my area a few years ago and I've only trapped COYOTES for 3 years. I used the female yotes vent because she was in heat big time.

Top
#1719694 - 01/08/10 06:54 PM Re: Remaking Coyote Sets [Re: Hunter50]
RogerDoger Offline
trapper

Registered: 07/16/08
Loc: Colchester, Connecticut
I may not get that many Coyotes in a lifetime! LOL You're not a novice in my book.
_________________________
Member: CTA, NTA,FTA

Top
#1719815 - 01/08/10 07:39 PM Re: Remaking Coyote Sets [Re: RogerDoger]
nccoyote Offline
trapper

Registered: 01/20/09
Loc: Mocksville, NC
Hunter 50,
I caught a female that was in heat a couple days ago on a fox remake, and I have had another coyote visit the set a couple times since then but have not connected. I punched another set outside the catch circle so we will see what happens. Good luck!

Top
#1719912 - 01/08/10 08:21 PM Re: Remaking Coyote Sets [Re: Looking4one]
Hunter50 Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/09
Loc: Statesville.,NC
Originally Posted By: Looking4one
Originally Posted By: Itrap
Educate me.....what is "her vent"....I have an idea but explain the whole wiring thing a bit more ....I agree great looking set


I would like to know what the vent is too!
Look close at the picture,you'll figure it out...lol

Top
#1720005 - 01/08/10 08:43 PM Re: Remaking Coyote Sets [Re: Looking4one]
Tactical.20 Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/24/06
Loc: N.W. Iowa
The anal gland , the rectum and 4-5" of intestine. I sell mine, about a 1$ a piece, I use the paw instead.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  BlueRidgeTrapper, tmrschessie