Land Trapping Archive

No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter

Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum

~Catalog~

Page 4 of 4 < 1 2 3 4
Topic Options
Hop to:
#1694877 - 12/30/09 05:44 PM Re: Snare Shapes : Teardrop vs Round [Re: Gage Drift]
jrt Offline
trapper

Loc: marion va
thanks for all the replies
RACOON 12
POSSUM 1
BOBCAT 0

#1695068 - 12/30/09 06:42 PM Re: Snare Shapes : Teardrop vs Round [Re: jrt]
Medlaketrap Offline
trapper

Loc: Montana
Ok, I know, Im an idiot rookie,,,lol, what does the term Loaded Snare exactly mean? Any pictures comparing loaded vs. non loaded?
Roman

#1695152 - 12/30/09 07:10 PM Re: Snare Shapes : Teardrop vs Round [Re: Medlaketrap]
Drakej Offline
trapper

Loc: Kanabec Cty, MN
I don't use loaded snares because of over abundance of deer. Though I am not setting in "deer" trails(illegal here) deer eventually go just about everywhere not displacing snares as fast as I can place them. So I put a jump branch(often my drag) over every snare in case. I also secure my snares a little more than most to keep in place(I use small hooks from 32g floral wire). I miss an animal or two walk thru but my snares stay 90% in place rather than 90% dropped. And they are placed in such heavy cover that I don't see evidence of animal refusing to pull snare closed. You can make a pretty round snare loop w/ 1x19 cable without loading.

#1697091 - 12/31/09 03:47 PM Re: Snare Shapes : Teardrop vs Round [Re: Drakej]
jagenlaxer Offline
trapper

Loc: maryland