Well I am a college student and had to do a research paper and I chose to do it on Gray Wolves and thought I would share with the class. LOL

The Gray Wolf
In 1974, the Gray Wolf was added to the Endangered Species Act. The wolves had become near extinct in the United States excluding Alaska which still had a healthy wolf population. According to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service website, in 1973, when the wolf was added to the list, Wisconsin and Michigan had a population of zero wolves and Minnesota was estimated to have between 500 and 1,000 free roaming wolves (U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service website, Wolf Population Chart). Why did this happen?
Wolves used to roam most of the United States. According to the Wisconsin DNR website Gray Wolves had packs distributed Coast to Coast and from the frozen tundra to the southern swamps (WI DNR website, Gray Wolf, Distribution, para. 1). But we are only going to look at the wolf populations in the Western Great Lakes Region.
As early pioneers moved into the region they started to hunt the deer, elk, and other main sources of food for the wolves. The Pioneers brought cattle and other livestock with them and well it is pretty obvious how this worked out. First you kill the wolf’s food sources, and then you bring in an animal that has no defense against the now hungry wolves. Wolves being opportunistic hunters will gladly take the easy prey. So between wolves preying on livestock and Wisconsin becoming very popular with sport hunting deer it was decided to place a bounty on the wolves (WI DNR Website, Gray Wolf, History in Wisconsin, para. 1, 2). The first Wisconsin wolf bounty was passed in 1839 and offered $3.00 per wolf (Thiel, 63). In 1868, the Waukesha County Board along, with the Town of Summit were offering $175 per wolf (Thiel, 69). The State Bounty on wolves continued until 1957 (WI DNR Website, Gray Wolf, History in Wisconsin, para. 2). This story was similar around the United States.